Onochie: Your members are INEC commissioners, APC replies PDP

Ruling All Progressives Congress, on Friday, lambasted main opposition Peoples Democratic Party for faulting the nomination of a presidential aide, Lauretta Onochie, as a commissioner of the Independent National Electoral Commission.

APC said in a statement by its Deputy National Publicity Secretary, Yekini Nabena, that “some members and brazen apologists” of the PDP are also commissioners of INEC.

President Muhammadu Buhari had on Tuesday nominated Onochie along with three others as National Commissioners of INEC.

Onochie was announced as a nominee to represent Delta State, while Prof Mohammed Sani, Prof Kunle Ajayi, and Seidu Ahmed, will represent Katsina, Ekiti, and Jigawa states, respectively.

APC claimed that Johnson Alalibo was a card-carrying member of PDP before being appointed Edo State Resident Electoral Commissioner.

ALSO READ:  APC National Aspirants Forum decries over non inclusive of members in PMB's Ministerial list

The ruling party also noted that the current INEC Chairman, Prof Mahmood Yakubu, was a Federal Government appointee before his emergence as the electoral boss.

The APC statement partly read, “President Muhammadu Buhari’s appointment of Lauretta Onochie as a National Electoral Commissioner for the Independent National Electoral Commission has been subject to rash, subjective, misplaced, and selective criticism by the Peoples Democratic Party and some interest groups.

“Perhaps the PDP needs to be reminded that one of its card-carrying members, Dr. Johnson Alalibo is the current Edo State Resident Electoral Commissioner.

“Alalibo, who was also a former Deputy Whip in the Bayelsa State House of Assembly, has been an electoral asset to the PDP but that is an issue to be addressed another day.

ALSO READ:  Boss Mustapha: With Increased Capacity, FG Targets 2 Million Testing by June

“Since public service now equates ‘partisanship,’ we invite the Peoples Democratic Party to equally fault appointment of Prof Mahmood Yakubu, the current INEC Chairman, who was the immediate-past Executive Secretary of the government’s Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND) as well as the earlier stated Dr. Johnson Alalibo.”

The General News

TGnews is a tripod of (The General) News,articles, Journals, opinion and adverts to millions of people accessing the internet. Serving the common interest not personal or sectarian or Religion interest that are in conflict with the national goals and aspirations of building a united ,peaceful and progressive Nigeria and the World at Large.

Next Post

Two dead, many injured as protesters, hoodlums clash in Benin

Fri Oct 16 , 2020
No fewer than two persons were killed when protesters and hoodlums clashed along Ring Road, Benin, Edo State, during the #ENDSARS protest on Friday. The hoodlums had stormed the venue of the protest, where they attacked the protesters with machetes and other weapons. The protesting youths were calling on the […]
Call Us Now!