Adamawa Speaker,5 others cases were reserved by Appeal court… be decided in due time


The Court of Appeal sitting in Yola, the Adamawa state capital has on Monday concluded necessary legal proceedings on 7 cases for the House of Assembly seats and has reserved them judgment in the matters for a later date.

The decision by the court to reserve the appeals for judgement was sequel to hearing and adoption of addresses tendered by both the appellants and respondents in the suits at a resumed proceedings today.

The three man panel of Justice led by Justice Chidi Nwaoma decided to reserved the judgement which will be delivered at anytime.

This will definitely bring an end to protracted legal tussle engaged in by 2 sitting members of the House of Assembly, 4 candidates that contested for elections for the House and that of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) against the decision of the Election Petition Tribunal.

Appeals reserved for judgment include that of the 2 embattled members of the House of Assembly, Hon. Shuaibu Dan Musa(APC) Mubi North, Hon. Umaru Musa Bororo(APC) Mubi South, and that of the INEC challenging the judgement of the Election Petition Tribunal against Hon. Bororo.

Both the lawmakers were sacked by the Election Petition Tribunal recently following petitions brought before the court by Hon. Suleiman Yahaya Sudi(PDP) Mubi North and Hon. Yakubu Musa Dirbishi(PDP) Mubi South, who contested for elections to represent the 2 constituencies at the House of Assembly.

Hon. Sudi and Dirbishi dragged the Honourable members before the court over allegations of certificate forgery which saw the court delivering judgement in favour of the petitioners thereby nulliying the election of the legislators.

Delivering its judgement on the petitions which sacked the members ,the court ordered INEC to issue certificates of return to Hon. Sudi and Hon. Dirbishi, PDP candidates who came second with highest number of votes cast during the polls..

The duo of Hon. Shuaibu and Hon. Bororo have put up a defiance in order not to forfeit their House of Assembly seats and as such have decided to appeal their cases to the apex court for redress.

In the same vein the other cases whose judgement have also been reserved include the one against the Speaker of the Honourable House, Rt. Hon. Aminu Iya Abbas, and 3 other sitting members including, Hon. Japhet Kefas(PDP) Gombi, Hon. Ibrahim Musa Italiya(ADC) Mayo Belwa and Hon. Myandassa Bauna(PDP) Lamurde.

All the appeals challenging the elections of the Speaker and 3 other legislators were filed at the court by the defeated Hon. Mohammed Atiku Hayatu( APC) Uba Gaya, Hon.Rufai Umar (ADC) Gombi, Hon.Peter Da’ape(PDP) Mayo Mayo Belwa and Hon. Vrati Nzonzo(APC) Lamurde.

Understandably,all the appellants in this election matter have approached the Apex Court with a view to determine whether the judgement delivered by 3 -Man Panel of Judges, led by Justice S. Akanbi, actually reflected the merits of their suits.

The verdict the of all the parties involved in these appeals will be determined by a three man panel led by Justice Chidi Nwaoma and judgement will be delivered soon.

The cases Hon. Shuaibu Dan Musa and Umar Musa Bororo, the sitting members who were ousted by the Tribunal will be determined by the Apex Court who reverse the judgment of Lower Court and will finally put the matter to rest in due time.